Dissertation Design: Artist Book Collection

The artists book as well as the design books all helped with trying to figure out how to create my dissertation. Seeing the variety of the books helped with what materials I was going to use for the book as well as what size and how it is presented. I want to use weird and wacky ways for creating the work itself but I do not want to be limited to how this can be showcased. The use of Typography is also a helpful aspect as this is what I am going to use when creating my work. I am less reliant on folds and creating a unique experience for this project and more on the editorial aspect as this is something I often do not attempt and should focus more on. Sizing is something I have not yet thought about and will be something I should focus on coming the future creation. One issue that was pointed out was what GSM I would use and how would it be used effectively. Not only this but also would my work being photographical or illustrative. I have used illustrations before for previous work so perhaps photographs would be something more effective to use here considering the different chapters and how they all link. Overall I feel the tutorials would be more helpful for this as trial and error and less seeing other work yet it has open my mind as to how it can be showcased effectively, especially for my work. This will be a fun yet difficult challenge experience to tackle.

notes-

Book review/ diss prep

Alternative layouts-?!

Think of paper content, size, shape and GSM for reference towards dissertation.

Outside of book cover, spine, feel of the book should be taken into account with your diss

Affordance, interaction and physicality- how could this be used with your diss?

Can be literal In segmentation for each chapter- see yellow multi fold

Keith smith-

Could use die cut or embossing, decoupage

Letterpress indentation and colouring

Perhaps chemical use or composition in relation to the book and it’s negative or positive impact or use

Could the book have an inherent affordable- be a stag alone book/ image or piece and the diss itself as a smart and inherent yet distant form

Do i include testable areas that you have to push out? Will it benefit me and my work? Is it the right thing to do? Explore this area and see if it can be applied as well as possibly see if this could be used in criticality instead

Open source- explore this!

Specialcollections@cardiffmet.ac.uk

DBARNAVILLE

Leave a comment