Dissertation Design- Workshop

Experimenting with layouts and design was part of this workshop. As time went on more and more rules were added until the last piece no longer resembled the first. The first design had limits such as size, kerning and no colours. The second through to the third removed most limitations so our work was legible and acceptably within the limits. Once colours and sizes were more loose, then the hierarchy changed and became easier for use to use and read.

This workshop was designed for us to learn about the limits and rules we can use or not use. We are given freedom to to pursue our dissertations however we want, but this also showed us what loosening rules and tightening them can do for our work and how we want to use them. Colour is something I do not often use much towards my work and Hierarchy is something I can use much more dramatically to my advantage. As the workshop came to a close I found that the work could be experimental and could reflect the piece of text to make it more intriguing and interesting. This has helped with thinking about how I can apply this to my work and what I would create using these skills. I do not have a clear idea of how my work would be made using these but I have at least a starting position and that is helpful enough for me.

IMG_3643IMG_3644IMG_3645IMG_3646IMG_3647IMG_3648IMG_3649

Leave a comment